Schedule of Classes Frequently Asked Questions

Contents


Do I have to log-in to the Schedule of Classes to view course offerings?
top
No, you do not have to log-in into the Schedule to search for courses and create a planner. You do have to log-in to the schedule in order to save planners, rename planners, and to actually register. If you log-in to the schedule and create a planner, the planner will be automatically saved and will appear the next time you log-in to the schedule. If you create a planner and are not logged in, it will not be saved or accessible during your next session in the Schedule of Classes.


How do I view course offerings for a different term?
top
In order to view an alternate term of course offerings, select the desired term from the drop down menu TERM, towards the top right of the screen.


How do I search for a course?
top
You can search for a course by using one or more of the boxes displayed on the search page. Remember to click the RESET SEARCH FORM button between searches to ensure that no selections have been carried over from your prior search, unless you wish to further refine a current search.

For example, if you know the department prefix, (for example LAST or TIDE), or CRN, you can type either in the course box then click “search all courses”. Or if you know the title, or part of the title, type it in the title box and click the search ALL COURSES button.

Type LAST in the course box. You get three pages of results. You can refine this search by finding classes offered only on Monday, Wednesday, and Friday by clicking on the corresponding check boxes and then clicking on the search ALL COURSES button again. You can further refine the same search by selecting the status of “open” and click search ALL COURSES button once again.

Each time you perform a new search and click the search ALL COURSES button, you will automatically be guided to the search results tab displaying your most recent search results.

Another way to search for courses is by using the subject area and curriculum requirements scroll down menus. You can select a subject area, curriculum requirement, or both, and click the search ALL COURSES button. The search can be further refined by selecting other search options on the search page.

Remember when starting a new search click the RESET SEARCH FORM button between searches to ensure that no selections have been carried over from your prior search.


How do I limit my course search to Continuing Studies and Continuing Studies cross-listed courses only?
top
As a School of Continuing Studies student you probably want to exclusively select courses for registration for which you will be billed the School of Continuing Studies tuition rate. In order to limit your course search to SCS courses, click on the search button at the bottom of the page that says, CONTINUING STUDIES ONLY, after entering your search options. Courses at the SCS rate can be identified in the search results page by an SCS icon found next to each course ID, in the center of the page.


How do I create and save a planner?
top
You can create and save planners once logged into the Schedule of Classes. Start creating a planner from the SEARCH RESULTS tab. Click the ADD icon and you will see the course appear in your COURSE CART. You can add as many courses as you like to your planner in the same manner. If time conflicts appear in your planner, you will see the words, TIME CONFLICT in red in the Course Cart or, click on the MY PLANNER tab TO see the overlapping time blocks. You can remove a course from your planner by clicking on the trash icon next to a course in the Course Cart.

Planners can be renamed by clicking the pencil icon in the Course Cart. Once clicked, you can edit the name of the planner and then save the newly named planner by clicking the check mark. You can create new planners by clicking the plus sign in the Course Cart. You will be prompted to rename each planner, and then save by clicking the check mark.

When you are ready to register, select the planner from which you would like to register and then click the CONTINUE button under the Course Cart, or the REGISTER (ADD/DROP) tab.

When you log out of the system, all of your planners will automatically be saved.


How do I register?
top
Once you have created a planner and you are ready to register, click the green CONTINUE button under the Course Cart or click the REGISTER (ADD/DROP) tab. This will bring you to the registration screen. On this screen all of the courses in your current planner will appear. You will now see to the right of each course listing a drop down menu that will allow you to add, remove or, if available, waitlist. All restrictions or conflicts will appear below each class on the registration screen. If these warnings appear and you decide not to add a course from your current planner, you may remove the class from the drop down menu or click the trash can icon in the Course Cart. If you have selected a section that has no available seats, and a section exists of the same course with open seats, a hyperlink will appear below allowing you to search open sections of the same class. Once all conflicts have been resolved and you are ready to register, click SUBMIT REGISTRATION at the bottom of the page then click submit to confirm the change. You are now registered.

If you wish to make further changes, refresh the page. Be sure to click SUBMIT REGISTRATION again after all changes have been made. The current schedule tab will display all courses that you have successfully registered for or waitlisted. Waitlisted courses will appear in grey.


How can I register for a course if I already know the CRN?
top
Click on the REGISTER (ADD/DROP) tab and at the top of the page you will see a box that reads ADD CRN. Type the CRN into the box, click ADD, and then click SUBMIT REGISTRATION at the bottom of the page.


How do I drop a class?
top
If you previously registered for a class and have decided to drop the class, click on the REGISTER (ADD/DROP) tab. Next to the course you wish to drop, select the word DROP from the drop down menu on the right. The course will now display in grey. Click the SUBMIT REGISTRATION button at the bottom of the screen and confirm your change. The course you dropped will no longer appear on the registration page.


How do I waitlist for a course?
top
If a course you’ve selected has no available seats and offers a waitlist option on the drop down menu, select waitlist and then press submit registration. The word WAITLISTED should appear next to the class on the registration screen. If a seat becomes available you will be notified by email. You have 48 hours to register for the course. If no action is taken by the end of 48 hours you will be removed from the waitlist.

Waitlists are not available for co-requisite courses.


When registered for co-requisites, how do I drop one section of a co-requisite to add a different section? (Conditional Drop/Add)
top
If you are registered for co-requisite courses such as a chemistry lecture and lab, you can change one of the course sections by adding the desired course section to a planner and click CONTINUE. On the registration screen a duplicate course notification will appear. Select DROP in the drop down menu for the section you are replacing. The notification will no longer appear. Click SUBMIT REGISTRATION and confirm your change.

Waitlists are not available for co-requisite courses.


Where do I find my time ticket information on the Schedule of Classes?
top
When you log into the Schedule your time ticket information will appear in a light blue banner towards the top of the screen.


How will I know if I have registration holds on my account?
top
When you log into the Schedule an alert will appear if you have any registration holds. Registration holds will not prevent you from creating planners; however, you will not be able to register if registration holds exist at the time of registration. You can see your holds at any time by clicking VIEW REGISTRATION HOLDS in the blue banner at the top right of the screen.


What is the difference between the MY PLANNER tab and the CURRENT SCHEDULE tab?
top
The My Planner tab displays all courses in your current planner. You may or may not be registered for these courses. If you drop a course for which you are actually registered, and the dropped course is saved in a planner, the course will still appear in the planner. The MY PLANNER tab is a planning tool. It does not represent actual registration. Whereas the CURRENT SCHEDULE tab does display actual registered and waitlisted courses and is representative of your actual registration- not planned scenarios.